Beauty Bite: Is Your Cleanser Toxic?

Toxic Cleanser

 

When it comes to experimenting with new beauty treatments, most of our products can be grouped into three categories:

 

1. FREQUENTLY (low risk: immediate removal if not completely satisfied)

-i.e nail polish, lipstick, eye shadow

2. OCCASIONALLY (moderate risk: removal time required)

-i.e hair product, mascara, body lotion

3. NEVER! Until it stops working or something better comes along… (high risk: permanent, potential major breakouts, etc.)

-i.e face cream, hair colour, facial cleanser

 

Imagine my dismay when I recently discovered my favourite facial cleanser and body wash were killing the environment. The culprit? Plastic microbeads, or polyethylene (PE). The plastic beads are non-biodegradable, microscopic and eventually end up in our Great Lakes, where they remain forever or exit via the food chain. You read that right: fish are eating them. The polyethylene beads soak up toxins and unfortunately resemble fish eggs, so unless you’re hankering for The Catch Of The Day with a side of plastic, it’s time we searched for alternative solutions to our old beauty standbys.

 

So what products was I using? Popular drugstore brands:

OLAY Regenerist Regenerating Cream Cleanser: I’ll admit it- once educated, feigning ignorance to polyethylene is impossible- the plastic scent is pretty powerful. The fact that it removes every trace of makeup, exfoliates and never breaks me out are all reasons why I love this product, but transitioning over to a non-toxic cleanser I can use without guilt is a priority, so the hunt is on. In the meantime, I’m using good ol’ St. Ives Apricot Scrub, which admittedly doesn’t perform as well my beloved Olay, BUT is microbead-free and has the added benefit of already being under my sink.

CARESS Evenly Gorgeous Exfoliating Body Wash in Burnt Brown Sugar & Karite Butter: I love this body wash so much, I cross the border for it: Caress isn’t sold in Canada. The smell is divine, it lightly exfoliates and leaves a sweet, lingering scent on the skin afterwards. The fact that it doesn’t clog up my razor if I use it for a quick shave is also major bonus. Giving it up will be tough. Damn you, Caress! Damn, you!!!

 

Toxic Cleanser 2

 

Do you care if your facial cleaner and body wash are polluting our waters? If transitioning over to non-toxic products is important to you, check out this list of products that are contributing to the toxicity.

 

One comment

Leave a Reply

