As If! Wildfox Couture Totally Pays Homage to Clueless For Its Spring/Summer 2013 Lookbook

Okay, so you’re probably going “Whatever!” but seriously, Wildfox Couture’s SS 2013 lookbook is totally slammin’! Paying a flawless homage to Amy Heckerling’s 1995 iconic flick Clueless, the book channels Cher, Dionne and Tai in all their teenage So-Cal glory.

The collection “We’re The Kids In America“, is teeming with mid-’90s style staples: mini skirts, knee socks, mary-jane’s, sunflower graphics, rose prints, baby tees and plenty of plaid, pleats and plaits.

As Wildfox’s designer Kimberley Gordon describes: “I have always wanted to express something creatively that is more than just fashion, it’s a feeling, a lifestyle, it’s about being a girl. It’s capturing a moment. I think I felt it first when I was about 12 around when Clueless came out and I was so in love with the characters, I didn’t just love the clothes, I loved the girls who wore the clothes – which made me want to wear them even more.”

I couldn’t agree more! I distinctly remember receiving a copy of Clueless on VHS for my birthday and naively watching it with my girlfriends (who was Azzedine Alaia?!!). I was intrigued. I was inspired. I liked what I saw, albeit I had no clue (clueless!) what l was lusting after. As superficial as the flick was, I daresay it was a major catalyst for my personal style. Begone, oversized plaid flannels and cords of yore! Enter baby tees, bandanas and micro-mini skirts. (Hey- I said personal style, not GOOD style. Holla!).

It’s hard to imagine that it’s been 18 YEARS since Clueless was released. I could wax nostalgic forever, but the images speak volumes. I’m outtie.

clueless

Wildfox Couture Spring/Summer 2013 Lookbook

wildfox

He does dress better than I do, what would I bring to the relationship?

wwwd

Why should I listen to you, anyway? You’re a virgin who can’t drive.wllll

Isn’t my house classic? The columns date all the way back to 1972.

wll

A licensed driver with nothing to do? Where would I find such a loser? 

wildfoxxx

wildfoxxAnything you can do to draw attention to your mouth is good.

wilddg

 I could really use some sort of herbal refreshment.wildd

Do you prefer “fashion victim” or “ensembly challenged”?wiildd wiid widdl

One comment

Leave a Reply

